New Year, Passions Reignited

It’s the beginning of a new year; a new beginning; a new chapter. It is the opportunity to create the me that I want to be. The me who determines my own professional value.

I was reading a blog post by Pernille Ripp yesterday entitled “Do Something” (http://pernillesripp.com/2015/12/31/do-something/) and it struck a cord with me. In particular the part where Pernille says,

“Because too often we sit back and wait for others to decide, we wait for others to fix, to mend, to invent, and to create. We wait for others to share their ideas because we are unsure of our own. We think to ourselves, “if only…” but the words never leave our mouths. And it’s a waste. It is a shame. It is our own fault that we wonder what change could really look like, what our ideas may become, when we choose to remain unsure. When we choose to remain silent.

So my wish for the new year is a simple one; do something. Something to make it better. Something to make it worth more. Don’t sit there and wait while others do, change the world yourself. Find your comfort zone and take a small step out.”

It struck a cord with me because last year I was given a teaching assignment I was sure I didn’t want. However, I realized that  I had a choice. I could be miserable and dread going to work everyday. I could wallow and be negative and let the negativity of others drag me down or I could do something more. I could do something to make it worth more. I chose not to sit there and wait for others to create, invent, or fix why is wrong with the current delivery of FSL. I chose to be the change.

It hit me again today as I prepared for a presentation that I am giving with a colleague of mine on Inquiry in FSL and she said to me, “I’m just not passionate about [French] like you are.” I’m passionate about learning. I’m passionate about the discipline-based inquiry method. I’m passionate about teaching. I’m passionate on doing what is in the best interests of my students. I’m passionate about creating an effective FSL program that has students experience French from the perspective of a Linguist and a Cultural Anthropologist. It’s not that I am necessarily passionate about French but I have chosen to do something and I will continue doing this something until my assignment changes (I’m hoping that won’t be for a few years. I want to see where this journey will take me!)

For 2016 my resolution is to not let others dictate what my value is; I am going to determine my professional value and continue to make the FSL program at my school better. I am going to do whatever I can to make FSL a valuable and desirable asset. I am going to change the world one small step at a time.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Denise Krebs
    Jan 04, 2016 @ 04:09:52

    Jessie, brava! I love your passion. It’s neat how your colleague thought you were passionate about French, even though you weren’t necessarily. Your passion in all the other areas you mentioned is contagious, though, to your colleague and your students, I’m sure.

    I’m excited to be in the Passionate Learners book club with you! Thanks for the post.
    Denise

    Reply

  2. Tanya
    Jan 21, 2016 @ 08:13:33

    Proud of you, my friend! Way to turn this around. I can tell you are putting your all in it. And I can see, you actually look happier. Your are an inspiration!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

