Saying Goodbye

In 7 days, I will be saying goodbye to a group of wonderful students and colleagues and beginning a new chapter in my life. I am trying not to think about how hard it is going to be to say goodbye to this group of students whom I have become very attached to. Each of them holds a special place in my heart and just thinking about leaving them makes me sad. I realize that I will be back after my maternity leave in one year but it will not be the same. I will have a new group of kids and these kids will be with a new teacher making those connections and building those relationships. This group of students has taught me many things. I have taught them math, LA, science and social studies but they have taught me about patience, energy, cooperation, collaboration and team. They have helped me to become a better teacher and in some ways, I think that they really have prepared me for my impending motherhood (although I am not convinced you can ever really be prepared).

When I say goodbye to these students next Friday, it will be the last time that we participate in 3H Friday (a hug, handshake or high five as they leave for the weekend). I can’t say that it won’t be emotional (at least for me). I don’t think I could every put into words everything that these students mean to me and how much I have enjoyed being their teacher. They have grown into a nice group of middle schoolers and I can’t wait to see how much they will grow in the year that I am away. If I could say anything to my students, it would be “Thank you”. Thank you for teaching me how to be your teacher and for helping me to grow as their teacher.

Leave a Reply

