Reflection on a New Report Card

Before our day begins, our principal posed the following questions to us and below each are my thoughts:

What are your thoughts about assessing students based on criteria from the new report card? 
I feel that assessing students based on the criteria on the new report card is key in developing well-rounded  students who know how to do processes rather than developing students who are focused solely on content.

How are you feeling? 
Depending on the day, I am mostly confident in my abilities to assess the students based on the criteria for the new report card however, I am unsure of how to provide enough evidence to the parents about how I have assessed their child. I don’t think the majority of parents will have any huge issues with the new report card but I want to be prepared for those few that still question why we don’t have marks.

What questions do you have?
What does ESTABLISHED look like at grade 7 (or any of the grades realistically) for any of the process skills in each of the subject disciplines? [I have confidence that I could figure out grade 6 easily as I have taught that for 5 years, however, grade 7 is a totally new ball game to me.]

What kinds of assessments are other people using in order to assess their students based on the criteria? [My team and  I are currently using a lot of rubrics but I want to know if there are other things that I just haven’t thought of yet!]

After our subject discipline meetings this mornings, we’ve been asked to reflect again on these same questions:

What are your thoughts about assessing students based on criteria from the new report card? 
I still feel that assessing students based on the criteria on the new report card is key in developing well-rounded  students who know how to do processes rather than developing students who are focused solely on content.

How are you feeling? 
I am beginning to feel more confident in my ability to provide evidence to the students and parents so that they are better able to understand how they are doing in relation to the established criteria. My subject-discipline team (Social Studies) and I have begun to create a continuum of the specific things that we feel should be assessed for each of the areas on the report card and have established what it is that we feel is ESTABLISHED at each of these grade levels.

What questions do I still have?
What kinds of assessments are other people using in order to assess their students based on the criteria? [My team and  I are currently using a lot of rubrics but I want to know if there are other things that I just haven’t thought of yet!]

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Charlene Daub
    Oct 08, 2011 @ 06:53:09

    Good thoughts. My comfort level changed after out meetings today as well. I focus a lot on processes in teaching but need to provide better evidence of learning of processes.
    Thinking the curriculum guides might have exemplars to use. Would like to work on checklists and rating scales instead of just rubrics. Rating scales are less wordy than full rubrics. Also thinking to try to collect video evidence of communication descriptors that kids can file in their grade four fOlder.
    Hopefully teachers will d lots Of sharing so aren’t all reinventing the same wheel.
    Looking forward to hearing from others.

    Reply

    • jessiekrefting
      Oct 08, 2011 @ 07:02:05

      I totally agree Charlene. I hope that we might be able to to come together as a division and share the things that we are using to collect evidence and data of student learning as we begin our journey.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

